The Egg and Spoon Race

egg-and-spoon-race

And on the heels of summer raced
Us children, with our egg and spoons,
The smell of cut grass in my face,
As parents wallowed deep in June.
I ploughed the earth, my head rammed down,
Determined that the badge was mine.
I barged and pushed and concentrated
On the distant finish line.
All echoes now of long ago
When hair was short and shorts were long,
And summers spent on playing fields
Were choruses to childhood’s song.
I didn’t win that plastic badge.
I broke the tape disqualified,
For halfway down the chalk-edged track
My egg committed suicide.

27 responses to “The Egg and Spoon Race

Leave a Reply

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

blogagaini

story telling with an iPhone

Echoes of the Past

Exploration of the Past

Juliette W Gregson Heritage Photography

Preserving the past for the future....

northumbrian : light

Random thoughts from deepest Northumberland

the hour of soft light...

How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)

merleytwister

Blogs by jojohedgehog

WordMusing

world of poetry and spokenword

Gerald's space

Welcome to my world!

Wordifull

...poetry, stories & rants.

Syncopated Eyeball

Creepy Spooky Lovely Nice

The numpty with a camera

Happily capturing moments in life.

