This is not my Natural Habitat

not-my-natural-habitat

For such a crowded, confined space this town is empty, all its soul
Consumed by car parks, yellow lines and shopping malls. It’s one great hole
And not my natural habitat. That’s high up on the windswept fells
Where trench coats crack dramatically. Down here the lonely crowd just swells
Between the cold grey buildings as I stand against the omni-flood.
My trench coat now is just a sign that I’m a failure. If I could
I’d leave tomorrow, not look back. The mindless, rolling, waking dead
Would fill the gap and stumble on in search of Spam and Tiger Bread.
A scum-lined ocean, filthy grey, of baseball caps and anoraks,
They’d buy their mediocre joys from shops built out of port-a-packs,
Whilst in some café on the moors, beneath a bruised and looming sky,
My trench coat collar round my ears, I’d watch the real world roll by.

20 responses to “This is not my Natural Habitat

Leave a Reply

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

blogagaini

story telling with an iPhone

Echoes of the Past

Exploration of the Past

Juliette W Gregson Heritage Photography

Preserving the past for the future....

northumbrian : light

Random thoughts from deepest Northumberland

the hour of soft light...

How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)

merleytwister

Blogs by jojohedgehog

WordMusing

world of poetry and spokenword

Gerald's space

Welcome to my world!

Wordifull

...poetry, stories & rants.

Syncopated Eyeball

Creepy Spooky Lovely Nice

The numpty with a camera

Happily capturing moments in life.

