The Busker

busker

There was a time I was a busker. My career wasn’t long.
I used to hang around outside the shops and murder Beatles songs
Until proprietors called coppers, who would turn up with a frown
And say, “They’ve offered you a fiver if you’ll play another town.”
The trouble was the streets were noisy, and in order to be heard,
You had to belt the songs out with such force it buckled all the words.
From time to time a lonely housewife stayed a while and watched me play,
Then asked me home, at which point I would just pack up and walk away.
When it rained I busked the markets. When it snowed I busked arcades.
And by night I slept in shelters eating bread and marmalade,
Then gate-crashed other people’s houses, borrowed food and hung about,
Until eventually they’d had enough and paid me to get out.


36 responses to “The Busker

Leave a comment

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

blogagaini

story telling with an iPhone

Echoes of the Past

Exploration of the Past

Juliette W Gregson Heritage Photography

Preserving the past for the future....

northumbrian : light

Random thoughts from deepest Northumberland

the hour of soft light...

How do I know what I think until I see what I say? (E.M. Forster)

merleytwister

Blogs by jojohedgehog

WordMusing

...a world of poetry and spokenword

Gerald's space

Welcome to my world!

Wordifull

...poetry, stories & rants.

Syncopated Eyeball

Creepy Spooky Lovely Nice

The numpty with a camera

Happily capturing moments in life.